Peppermint Bark Puppy Chow

easy peppermint bark puppy chow

I don’t know about you, but I love puppy chow, a.k.a. muddy buddies.  Whatever you call the stuff, it is like crack.  I don’t even wanna know how many calories are in this seriously addictive snack mix because that may explain the extra pounds I carry around on the ole caboose.

I’m also a big fan of peppermint bark around the holidays.  White chocolate, milk chocolate, whatever — it just has that perfect, slightly minty flavor with a textured crunch that satisfies every time.

This year I decided to combine these two delicacies after reading some recipes, and because I didn’t want to eat an entire batch myself (see…I have some self-control), I made this peppermint bark puppy chow as part of my kids’ teacher gifts for the holidays.

It was such a success, I figured it deserved a post of its own.  I apologize for no photos (it was consumed too quickly to pose for the camera).

Here is what you will need to make a batch for yourself:

1 microwave safe mixing bowl

1 large (2 gallon) ziptop bag

1 regular sized box of rice chex cereal

white chocolate melts (I found these at Michael’s in the baking aisle)

1 box small candy canes, crushed or run through a food processor

1/4 Cup – 1/2 Cup powdered sugar

Procedure:

Melt one bag of white chocolate melts in the microwave in a large microwave safe bowl in 30 second increments, stirring in between.  After the white chocolate is melted, add the regular sized box of rice chex cereal and fold the cereal into the chocolate until it is completely coated.

Pour the cereal into a large (2 gallon size is preferable) ziptop bag that also has the crushed box of candy canes in it.  I had Mr. 2-year-old help me crush these candy canes earlier, but it was not an easy job and we did it in a plastic bag that kept getting holes in it.  I highly recommend using a food processor instead, although it did get out some of his cooped up energy at the time.

Having your kids help during this next step is essential because it requires shaking that baggie while dancing to “Rocking Around the Christmas Tree” — okay, the dancing isn’t essential, but it makes it fun.

This is where it just kind of becomes trial and error.  Once the chocolate covered cereal is coated in the crushed peppermint, check to see how wet it looks (and taste it…yum!).    Add some powdered sugar, about 1/4 cup at a time and shake some more until the choc/cereal/mint mixture is dry.  I made up two bags, using the exact same amount of ingredients, but had to add much more powdered sugar to one bag.  Go figure!

After the cereal appears “dry”, just let it sit in the bag for a while to cool and harden.  Once hardened, scoop whatever amount you want into sandwich baggies for gifts and hide the leftovers from your family so you can eat it later!

One thought on “Peppermint Bark Puppy Chow

  1. Pingback: Crafty Mom Hot Cocoa Kit Gift Bags | When in Doubt, Add Butter

Leave a Reply

