No Knead Dinner Rolls

No Knead Dinner Rolls

Last night, my husband decided he would make some filet mignon.  We so rarely eat steak that I knew I needed to give it the proper side dishes to welcome it to our dinner table.  Homemade dinner rolls were on the list.

For Thanksgiving this year, I made The Pioneer Woman’s No Knead Dinner Rolls and they were so good.  They were a hit and everyone loved them, but they were also enough for a large crowd with leftovers to send home.  Her recipe made 24 large rolls and almost 24 mini rolls in my mini-muffin tin.

I love bread, but even I don’t need that many homemade rolls.  I’d have to go join a gym or something due to the guilt I would have after eating them all in the middle of the night.

I cut down Ree’s recipe to make just one-quarter of the amount, which still made 12 full-sized rolls.  I also eliminated one step from her recipe by combining all of the ingredients before the first rise.  It worked out beautifully.

What you need to make this recipe:

1 Cup of whole milk

1/4 Cup of vegetable oil

1/4 Cup of white sugar

2 1/4 Cups of bread flour or all purpose flour

1 1/4 tsp active dry yeast (or 1/2 of a package)

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

Procedure:

The first thing you need to do is combine your milk, oil, and sugar in a saucepan and bring it up to almost a boil.  This is to scald the milk.  Why do you want to do this?  It seems unncessary, doesn’t it?  Well, scalding milk helps break down the whey proteins, which can weaken gluten and prevent a bread from rising properly.  You certainly could skip this step, but you may end up with flat bread.  Scald away!  Just make sure you don’t bring it to a boil.  As soon as it is close, pull your pan off the heat and let it cool for about 20 minutes.

Your milk  needs to be cool before you can add the yeast.  You just want it warm to the touch.  If you stick your finger in your milk mixture and it is hot, then let it cool longer.  You don’t want to kill your yeast.

no knead dinner rolls

After your milk has cooled, transfer it to a mixing bowl, add 1 Cup of your flour, yeast and salt and mix.  Then add your remaining flour, baking soda and baking powder.  Stir until it just starts to come together and cover with plastic wrap and a tea towel and set it in a warm area to rise for at least an hour.

no knead dinner rolls

You may be questioning whether this lump that has not been kneaded will rise, but trust me, it will.  As long as your milk mixture wasn’t too hot, it will rise.  I like to give my dough a slight boost when rising by preheating my oven to 250 for just 2 minutes.  I set my timer and when two minutes are up, I turn off the preheating process.  This is where I let my dough rise and it loves its warm little home.

The proof is in this photo:

no knead dinner rolls

At this point, you need to separate the larger dough into two pieces, then each of those pieces into six even balls.  Each ball will be separated into three smaller, walnut sized pieces to form a dinner roll that will have a pretty shape and will pull apart when baked.

I sprayed a muffin tin with coconut oil and assembled each roll as seen here:no knead dinner rolls

Cover this lightly with a tea towel and set it aside to rise again for at least an hour until they look like this:no knead dinner rolls

It is like magic, isn’t it?  To bake these off, preheat your oven to 400 degrees and bake for 10-15 minutes, or until nicely golden.  My batch took just under 10 minutes and they tasted amazing.  No one would’ve guessed that I didn’t do much at all to prep these beauties.  I hope you give them a try.

no knead dinner rolls

Leave a Reply

