The Best Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

chocolate chip cookie bars

Happy Birthday to me!  What is a baker to do on his/her own birthday?  Well, obviously a baker bakes something.

My two classes of seniors have been wanting me to bring in some of my baked goods for a while now, so I thought I would whip up something for them in order to celebrate.  On top of it being my birthday, today the kids were sharing their projects with each other about our school’s annual celebration of writers, which ended last week.  The kids could have written their own creative piece of writing, they could have put together a sound track for the week, or they could have made a movie trailer for the week.  The products I received today are awe-inspiring and I learned that each student is affected positively by Writers Week in many different ways.

What a great way for a teacher to spend the day, listening to how writing has influenced students, the speakers and peers that stood out the most to my kids, and the inspiring take-aways of the week (the week that us English teachers work hard behind the scenes preparing for them).

So yes, Happy Birthday to me!  I planned it this way.

I love chocolate chip cookie bars and unfortunately, can almost eat an entire pan myself.  My recipe makes a huge pan of bars, but you can always cut it in half.  These bars freeze well, too.  Just layer them in an air-tight container and take out as many as you want to thaw.  They are even good still frozen, not that I’ve ever stooped that low before.

What you need to make a pan of these, too:

3 sticks of butter (1 1/2 Cup)

1 1/2 tsp salt

1 Cup white sugar

1 1/4 Cups packed light brown sugar

2 tsp vanilla

3 large eggs

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

3 1/3 Cups all-purpose flour

1, 12 oz package semi-sweet chocolate chips

Procedure:

Line an 18×26 rimmed baking sheet with aluminum foil and spray it with cooking spray or grease it with butter.

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.

Cream butter and sugars together until light and fluffy.  Add your eggs and vanilla and mix on medium speed until fully incorporated.  Sprinkle salt and baking soda on top of this mixture and stir in, then add flour in thirds, stirring until incorporated.

By hand, fold in chocolate chips and spread into your prepared baking tray, and bake for 20-25 minutes, until golden brown on top.

Allow to cool completely before cutting into bars.

These taste amazing just the way they are, but extra good warmed up with vanilla ice cream on top.  Yep — been there, done that, too!

20140308-114058.jpg

Leave a Reply

