BBQ Chicken Pizza

bbq chicken pizza recipe

This is one of my absolute favorite pizzas to make (and of course, favorite to eat). When I planned to make it a few weeks ago, I didn’t know I was missing a bottle of barbecue sauce in my fridge, but boy was I shocked to reach for that bottle only to find an empty space.

My husband cleaned out the condiments! Let me repeat…my husband cleaned out the condiments!!! While it was a wonderful surprise, I now had to think fast and make some homemade barbecue sauce.

I’ve made homemade BBQ sauce before, but it was a slow process to develop the flavor just right for pulled pork. I didn’t have that kind of time because I had a hungry family and about an hour and a half, so I whipped up a quick sauce that was ready in ten minutes or less. It worked well for this pizza and I didn’t have a ton left over to sit in the fridge waiting for the next time my husband made the condiment purge.

I used my basic building block recipe for pizza dough, some cooked chicken breast, chopped pineapple (I used canned here, but fresh is a million times better) and thinly sliced red onion with enough mozzarella cheese to just cover the toppings. After the pizza was done, I threw on some fresh scallions, but cilantro works even better if you have it on hand. The green color brightens up the appearance and the freshness is the perfect complement to the melty cheese and chewy crust.

If you’ve never had barbecue chicken pizza before, you have to give it a try. When my husband first clued me in on this type of pizza I had a hard time separating myself from the traditional red sauce, cheese and meat/veggie pizzas I had come to know and love. Somewhat skeptical, I fell in love with this flavor combination and I’m sure you will too. Give it a try!

What you need:
Pizza dough — see my recipe for this basic building block
1/2 to 1 Cup diced or shredded, cooked chicken
1/2 Cup chopped pineapple
1/4 cup thinly sliced red onion into crescent moons
1/3 cup chopped scallions or cilantro (or both if you are feeling crazy)
1 Cup shredded mozzarella cheese
1/2 Cup BBQ sauce of your choice (See below for a quick recipe)
Olive oil for baking sheet

Procedure:

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees and grease a baking sheet with olive oil (just enough to give it a slight coating).

When your dough is ready, roll it/stretch it/pat it out until it is approximately 16 x 16 inches round.

Partially bake your dough at 400 degrees for about 10 minutes, then pull it out to top it.

Spread an even layer of your barbecue sauce on the pizza (about 1/2 Cup).  Layer the red onions, chicken, and pineapple on top.  Then cover the pizza with the mozzarella cheese.  Bake for approximately 12-15 minutes until the crust is golden and the cheese is melted and browned on top.

Let your pizza cool a few minutes before slicing and sprinkle on the scallions/cilantro before serving.  This is a great summer pizza and goes well with a nice frosty glass of beer!  Because of this, I think it is a great recipe to add to Angie at The Novice Gardener’s Fiesta Friday #14.  Invite your friends over, have a party, and check out the other delicious recipes at Angie’s place.

How to make a quick homemade BBQ sauce:

1 Cup of ketchup

2 Tbs apple cider vinegar

1/4 Cup packed brown sugar

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp ground black pepper

1 tsp paprika

1 Tbs worcestershire sauce

1/2 tsp dehydrated onion or 1/4 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/4 Cup water

1 tsp ground mustard

1/2 tsp sriracha or tabasco sauce

Combine all ingredients in a sauce pan and bring to a low boil, then turn down to a simmer for about five minutes.  Adjust seasonings as needed to create the taste that works for you.  I like a tangy, spicy barbecue sauce.  If you like a sweeter sauce, add more brown sugar.

 

bbq chicken pizza

 

11 thoughts on “BBQ Chicken Pizza

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #14 and Fiesta Friday Challenge #1 | The Novice Gardener

    • Hi Simi — Thanks for stopping by and following my blog. I hope you can give this recipe a try. It is delicious 🙂

  2. Great recipe! Now I can have barbecue sauce without running to the shops at the last minute! 🙂
    My husband is a tomato sauce on pizza man, but I recently convinced him about white pizzas that only use cheese. Maybe barbecue chicken is next! Thanks for sharing with Fiesta Friday! 😀

    • Oooh! I sure hope you can convince him to give this a try. I bet he will request it frequently after that!

  3. Hello!

    My name is Joanna and I have read your blog and I really liked your recipes! I work for a website called myTaste.com and I would love for you to join us! 🙂

    http://www.mytaste.com is a search engine that collects food blogs. We already have over 3000 blogs and if you join us you will take benefit from the trafic that we are sending to your blog.

    Hopefully with your recipes your blog will be on the top of the food blogs list! If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact me at info@mytaste.com

    To join myTaste, just go to http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Best regards,
    Joanna
    mytaste.com

  4. This may surprise you but I’ve never had chicken on a pizza before. So I’m sure you won’t be surprised that I’ve never had bbq sauce like this either. It’s just not something us Brits do terribly well. The bbq, full stop. 🙂 Do love the idea of it. And did have a wonderful bbq in Houston several years ago, where they know a thing or two about it.

    • I didn’t know Brits had a BBQ deficiency…haha. Give my recipe a try and you may have folks flocking to your kitchen! :). Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

