Gluten Free Pizza Crust

 

Tasty Gluten Free Pizza Crust Recipe

I’m new to this whole gluten free world, but even though it has only been two weeks I have learned plenty.  Thankfully, my career as a teacher allows me summers home to experiment like this.  I have the time to figure out recipes through trial and error.  Time to research, try, fail and sometimes succeed.

Last night I was tired of cooking, though.  I just wanted something easy to make and I learned through searching for restaurants with gluten free options that many pizza places near me offer gluten free crusts.  Bingo!  I was going to order a pizza for the family.

Unfortunately, that plan was a major fail.  Why?  Because one of the hard lessons I have learned by eliminating wheat from my diet is that almost all food producers/services completely exploit those who have a gluten intolerance or allergy.  That pizza I wanted to order for my family — it never happened because the pizza places I looked up in my immediate area only offered personal sized pizzas (not enough to feed a family of five) AND some even up-charged for the gluten free crust.  One restaurant that will remain nameless only had a 9″ gluten free crust at an extra charge of $4.00.  Holy smokes!  Essentially, if I wanted to order enough pizza for my family with gluten free crust, I would have had to spend almost double the amount I would normally spend on pizza for my crew.

Therefore, I decided it was time to just make my own.  I used a recipe that I have tried a few times for flatbread and couldn’t get quite right.  The first time I made it I added too much flour, thinking it had to be handled like a wheat dough.  It turned into a brick after it cooled.  The second time I made it, I followed the instructions and tried to shape the dough between two pieces of plastic wrap before gently removing the round circle and putting it in a pan.  I ended up with this lovely shape:

gluten free flatbread fail :)

It actually tasted really good, but wasn’t flatbread material.  I couldn’t bend it to wrap it around the chicken kabobs I made.  It was more of a…

PIZZA CRUST!

Yes — this is exactly what this would be good for!  No need to shape it either, as I’ve learned in gluten free baking, you pour that shiznit onto a pan and use a spatula to shape it.  Just make sure you line that pan with parchment paper to prevent sticking.

So, from a gluten free fail, I ended up with the most glorious crust.  It held up to the sauce and toppings I put on it wonderfully.  It didn’t crumble or break apart.  It had a nice crunch on the outside and a tender, chewy interior.  I will be making this again, for sure!

I’m bringing this crust along to Fiesta Friday #21 at Angie’s place (The Novice Gardener).  More and more bloggers are writing gluten free recipes these days, so I figured maybe they could benefit from my failures and successes and dig into some pizza too.  Hope you all like it!

What you need to make three small pizza crusts, or one large and one small crust:

2 1/2 cups gluten free all purpose flour (I use a blend of 2 part brown rice flour, 2 part sorghum, 1 part arrowroot, and 1 part potato startch)
1 1/4 tsp xantham gum (you don’t need to add this if you buy a premade blend that has it)
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
3 tsp sugar
2 1/4 tsp instant yeast
1/3 cup  plain greek yogurt, at room temperature
3 Tbs coconut oil
1 large egg
3/4 cup warm water
Procedure:
Mix your warm water, sugar and yeast together in the bowl of your mixer.  Allow to sit for five to ten minutes to bloom the yeast.  Add your salt, flour, baking powder, xantham gum, egg, and oil to the mixer and mix until fully incorporated.  Add your yogurt and once incorporated, scrape down the sides and beat the dough on high speed for two minutes.  Scrape down your sides again, cover the bowl with plastic wrap and a tea towel and set aside to rise for about 1 hour.  You should have a dough that has doubled in size after one hour.
Line your pizza pans with parchment paper and pour your dough onto your pans.  Spread dough with the back of a spatula to the desired shape and size you want your pizzas to be.  Set aside for at least fifteen minutes to puff up a bit more.
It should look like this:
gluten free pizza crust recipe
Preheat your oven to 400 degrees and bake your crusts for 10 minutes.
After ten minutes, pull your crusts out and lightly brush with olive oil — then add your toppings and bake for another 10-15 minutes until the crust is golden and the toppings are bubbly.
What you are left with is a wonderful pizza that is not tiny, doesn’t cost you anything more than what is in your pantry, and is something you know is not contaminated with wheat.
Enjoy!
Gluten Free pizza crust recipe

 

 

15 thoughts on “Gluten Free Pizza Crust

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #21 | The Novice Gardener

  2. It looks SOOOOOOOOO good- those black olives caught my eye b/c they’re one of my favorite pizza toppings! I was JUST complaining earlier this week because my friend eats gluten-free and I noticed that restaurant menus around us did the same thing as by you– they upcharge (a lot!) for gluten free pizza! I was nottttt impressed by that at all. Making your own is the way to go, thanks for sharing, I’ll send my friend (and mom and sister) this recipe because they’re all gluten free! 🙂

    • Thanks Stephanie! Please do share. I was shocked at the up charge. It is so wrong to do for a smaller product at that!

      • I agree! Seems to take advantage of people’s diet restrictions, I don’t get it.. but I won’t let it ruin my Fiesta Friday because you’ve provided the solution! Wahoo 😉

  3. This pizza is calling my name! I’m not g-f, Angenette, but I’ve had a similar experience with marked-up prices for brown rice instead of white rice. It’s ridiculous that restaurants can do this. I think your pizza crust looks terrific and I am sure it’s probably better than restaurant g-f crusts!

    • Thanks, Ngan! I have a feeling it probably tastes better than the restaurant version too. I’m guessing they buy pre-made, frozen crusts…that’s why they only come in one size. And I do wonder why brown rice costs more than white rice. You would think it would cost less because they aren’t running it through a processing machine as much. Hmmm!

      • I think it’s probably the same reason why g-f crust is more expensive: because they can take advantage of people’s less common food preferences/intolerances. Humph! We’ll show them by just making our own awesome food! 🙂

      • Yep! Someday I want to go into the food business, so maybe I can make affordable GF food for people and get all their business, too??? hahaha

  4. Hi Angenette, great to meet you, and to read about your experiment, it looks like you ended up with a great outcome! I’ve always found that commercially made gluten free pizzas taste like cardboard so I just don’t eat them!! I’ll have to try your recipe 🙂 thank you for bringing it to this weeks Fiesta Friday, have fun!

  5. That is indeed a glorious pizza crust! I’ll have to pass this onto my coeliac friend, as she *adores* pizzas! Thank you for this experiment gone right! 😀

    • Thank you! I hope you do pass it along, because it was really good! I almost prefer it to regular wheat crust!

Leave a Reply

