Gluten Free Hamburger Buns

gluten free hamburger buns

Today was a rough day for me.  Sixteen days of going without gluten and I had to take my five-year old to a birthday party.  I knew I would be tantalized with the smell of pizza, but man…it was difficult to be around.  I packed a snack of almonds, thinking that would make me feel better, but nope.  When pizza time rolled around, I was dying.  I almost considered grabbing a slice and just eating off the cheese, but I would have had about 30 sets of eyes on me — I know that would’ve looked odd.  Thankfully, the party mom and dad also brought a fruit and veggie tray and some veggie stick chips that just happened to be gluten free, so I had some of that to appease the growling stomach.

The funny thing is, aside from the pizza, I didn’t really want cake and after my daughter finished eating a piece of pizza and two bites of cake, she said her tummy hurt.  Could it be the wheat?  I don’t know.

So, to reward myself for resisting temptation, I wanted to grill up some burgers tonight and eat them on a dang hamburger bun.  Is that too  much to ask for?  Apparently, the gluten free producers in the grocery store understand that need, that’s why a four pack of buns costs almost six dollars.  I knew I could make my own homemade version and I have a hankering that mine taste better too.

gluten free hamburger buns

Here is what you need to make ten buns (you could also make them smaller as dinner rolls):

1 Cup brown rice flour

1 Cup fine ground white rice flour

1/2 Cup + 2 Tbs potato starch

1/2 Cup + 2 Tbs corn starch (if you can’t eat corn starch, you can sub arrowroot powder or tapioca flour)

1 1/2 tsp xanthan gum

1 tsp salt

2 tsp baking powder

1 1/4 Cups warm water

1 Tbs active dry yeast

6 Tbs oil/fat of your choice (I used melted coconut oil)

1/4 Cup sweetener of your choice (I used plain old sugar)

2 large eggs

Procedure:

Preheat your oven to 425 degrees and lightly grease two baking sheets.

Mix together your yeast, sugar, oil and warm water.  Let set with a towel over it for about 10 minutes.  The mixture should puff up significantly.

In the bowl of your mixer add your dry ingredients and mix together.  Slowly add your yeast mixture and eggs, mixing until incorporated.  Turn your mixer up and beat mixture for about 2 minutes.

Scoop dough onto baking sheets (about 1/2 Cup per bun).  Once buns are on the pan, wet your fingers and smooth out the tops of buns.

gluten free hamburger buns

Allow to sit out for about 5-10 minutes to rise a bit.

Bake for 10-12 minutes until golden brown.  Allow to cool before slicing.  These are best the day they are made, but can be sliced and frozen.

gluten free hamburger bun

gluten free hamburger buns

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Gluten Free Hamburger Buns

  1. Hello!

    I saw your blog and thought it had great recipes and awesome pictures! I therefore would like to invite you to our new culinary website which has just started.

    This is how it works in short. TastyQuery.com is a website for food bloggers and their fans allowing them to automatically collect recipes from your food blog. It’s a large database of links to recipes on food blogs. Everyone can join us for free.

    For more please visit:
    http://tastyquery.com

    TastyQuery.com is an English version of our main website called “Mikser Kulinarny”, founded in Poland. “Mikser Kulinarny” has a large audience (over 2 mln unique visitors monthly) and with TastyQuery.com we want to repeat that success and drive thousands of new visitors to your food blog.

    In case of any questions, don’t hesitate to contact us.

    best regards

    Ania, TastyQuery.com

    • Yes! I haven’t worked out the numbers, but I’m guestimating I can get about three times as much with the same amount of money by making them myself. Thanks for stopping by 😉

Leave a Reply

