Baked Mini Corn Dog Poppers

 

Baked Mini Corn Dog Poppers Recipe

My middle child has been following me around asking for corn dogs lately.  I have no idea why, but she really wanted them and who am I to deny her this wish?

However, the idea of frying corn dogs was not appealing to me, and I didn’t want to fiddle with hotdogs on sticks, so I figured I would just make my cornbread recipe, sweeten it a bit with a little extra sugar, and make these poppers in my mini muffin tin instead.

To keep this recipe gluten free, I didn’t add all purpose flour to the corn bread recipe like I normally would do.  Instead, I used potato starch.  I also avoided using hotdogs with nitrates and picked up some Applegate nitrate free dogs at the store.  It’s the least I can do, I suppose.

These little poppers not only taste great, but are super cute.  The kids just loved them — what kid doesn’t like mini-sized, finger foods?  I asked my middle child if this fit her corn dog craving and she said, “they are good, Mom, but not exactly like a corn dog.”  I’m actually glad they aren’t because those things are loaded with junk!

This recipe makes 24 mini poppers and uses 4 hot dogs.  If you are making them for a bigger crew or just want to make some to have on hand in the freezer, you can easily double the recipe and either make two trays or make them in larger muffin trays.

Feel free to experiment with the batter too — you can add some shredded cheddar cheese or some diced jalapeno peppers to the batter for a little kick.

What you need to make these mini corn dog poppers:

1 Cup cornmeal (I have some amazing stone ground cornmeal in my freezer, but a fine ground corn meal will do too)

1/4 Cup potato starch

1/4 Cup white sugar

3 Tbs melted butter

1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp baking powder

2 large eggs

1/3 Cup whole milk

4 hot dogs, cut into six pieces each

1, 24 count mini-muffin tray

cooking spray (I use coconut oil spray)

Procedure:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees and grease your mini muffin tin with cooking spray.

Mix together dry ingredients, then add milk, eggs and melted butter whisking together until incorporated.  Let set aside for a few minutes.

Using a small ladle or spoon, add about 1 Tbs of batter to each muffin cup.  It should evenly make 24 muffin cups filled about 3/4 full.  To the center of each muffin cup, add a piece of hot dog and push it down until it comes level to the batter.

Bake for 12-15 minutes until golden and remove to a plate to cool before serving with mustard and/or ketchup.

Mini corn dog poppers recipe

3 thoughts on “Baked Mini Corn Dog Poppers

Leave a Reply

