Flourless Chocolate Chip Cookies

flourless chocolate chip cookie recipe

Sometimes you just need a chocolate chip cookie, and nothing else can replace that craving.  At least this is true for me, anyway.  Chocolate chip cookies strike that perfect balance between sweet and salty, rich and light.  The perfect chocolate chip cookie is both crunchy and chewy.  I’ve been disappointed a few times by a cookie that looked absolutely beautiful, but when I bit into it, it crumbled and was dry.  And sometimes, sometimes (like this time), a cookie may not look pretty, but it tastes just right.

Baking without wheat flour is a huge learning curve, but I honestly believe it is making me a better cook and baker.  I could make bread dough and cookies with wheat flour with  my eyes closed and one hand tied behind my back.  Now I am in a new realm of baking — one where I am a student again — where everything you think you know gets tossed out the window and things that make sense in a wheat world no longer work.  It is exciting and intimidating at the same time, but so far I have come to understand the unique requirements for this type of baking.

These cookies are just one of the lessons I learned.  I saw this recipe from Meaningful Eats for almond flour chocolate chip cookies on Pinterest and the pictures looked amazing — it kickstarted my craving for chocolate chip cookies and I had to make them.  Plus, I love almond flour — out of all the gluten free flours out there, almond flour takes the cake (pun intended here).  My little five year-old helper and I pulled out a couple sticks of butter and a couple of eggs from the fridge to bring them to room temp earlier in the day yesterday.  Unfortunately, I was preoccupied with bathroom renovations and didn’t get around to making these cookies with her until after dinner.  Let’s just say the butter was super soft.  Ignoring my baker’s intuition and following my stomach’s lead, I baked these cookies without sticking the dough in the fridge to thicken up a bit.

I ended up with some pretty large, flat cookies and was convinced I ruined them.  However, once they were cooled, I was blown away by how great they tasted.  Because these are made with almond flour, they are crunchy and chewy.  They have the salty and sweet balance down pat and of course those gems of semi-sweet chocolate add to the richness of the butter.  They are delicate, like a lace cookie but still have the tooth of a regular chocolate chip cookie.  They are my new favorite!

flourless chocolate chip cookie recipe

The original recipe I used called for two teaspoons of vanilla, but I only had 1/2 tsp left, so I also used 1/2 tsp of almond extract.  Amazing!  I think the extract really highlights the almond flour and the sweetness of the cookie.  Again, my new favorite.  I froze half of the dough into a log and froze half of the baked cookies so I could have a quick snack on hand when the cookie monster cravings hit again.  There is nothing like a chocolate chip cookie straight out of the freezer.  If you haven’t tried it, you should!

I’m bringing these delicious, flourless chocolate chip cookies to Fiesta Friday #22 this week.  I know they will be a hit with all the foodies.  Who doesn’t like a chocolate chip cookie anyway?  I know I can’t pass them up.  Hopefully you can stop by The Novice Gardener’s place to check out all the other dishes that the contributors are bringing to this weekly gathering.

What you need to make these cookies too:

2 sticks of butter, softened

1/4 Cup softened coconut oil

3/4 Cup brown sugar

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

2 eggs, room temp

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp almond extract

3 Cups almond flour

1 1/2 Cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

1/4 Cup coconut flour

Procedure:

Cream together your butter, coconut oil and sugar in a mixer.  Add your eggs, vanilla and almond extract and mix until incorporated.  Mix in salt, baking soda and flours until incorporated.  Fold in your chocolate chips.

Put in the fridge to firm up for 20 minutes or bake in a pre-heated 350 degree oven as is for extra thin, lacy goodness.  Spoon out about 1 tablespoon of dough and space about 2-3 inches apart on parchment lined baking sheets.  If you bake these right away, it should take about 10 minutes, but watch them carefully.  You want to bake them until they are golden brown all over.  Too little and they won’t hold together.  Too much, and they will burn.  Allow to cool completely before eating ( I just slid the parchment paper off the pan with the cookies still on it so they wouldn’t continue to cook — see photo above).

If you fridge the dough, add a couple more minutes of bake time.  These cookies are best the day they are made, but should be stored in an airtight container in the refrigerator.  Enjoy!

flourless chocolate chip cookie recipeflourless chocolate chip cookie recipe

5 thoughts on “Flourless Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #22 | The Novice Gardener

  2. Welcome to Fiesta Friday Angenette! I’m so excited to see you…and even more excited that you brought chocolate chip cookies to the table! It’s so funny…because you and I were on the same wave length this week… I was craving chocolate chip cookies so bad, that I had to make them too!! You have me so intrigued by the almond flour and coconut flour, that I may need to make these very soon. I bet that they are spectacular! Thank you so much for sharing this great recipe! I cannot wait to try them! Great post! ❤

    • Thanks! I checked out your recipe, too! Love the idea of the vanilla glaze over them to make them extra delicious and indulgent 🙂

Leave a Reply

