Lemon Blueberry Layer Cake

Lemon Blueberry Cake Gluten Free

It has been a while since I’ve posted anything on ye old blog, but no worries — I have been busily cooking and learning in the kitchen as well as working on home remodeling.

The proof is in the…cake!  I made this beauty for our 4th of July barbecue on Friday and I’m betting that if I didn’t tell people this was gluten-free, no one would have known.  It was that good.  I got the recipe for this cake off of Gluten-Free on a Shoestring.  You can check out this amazing site and recipe here:  GFOAS Lemon Blueberry Cake

I followed the recipe closely, but only made half the amount of buttercream and kind of winged it on the lemon glaze on top.  Those are elements of baking I’m pretty comfortable with, and I knew I didn’t need two inches of buttercream between my cake layers — what I made was just enough.  See below:

Gluten Free Lemon Blueberry Cake

If you have a mega sweet tooth, go ahead and make all of the buttercream though.

I also didn’t have two square baking pans, so I used 9″ round baking pans.  I’m not sure if the pans affected my bake time or if it was my oven, but I had to bake my cakes for about 35-40 minutes instead the guideline of 20-25 minutes.

GF Lemon Blueberry Cake

Since this was the first gluten-free cake I’ve tasted, I was impressed with the texture and taste of this recipe.  It was a little dense, but not too dense.  It wasn’t gummy at all and had a wonderful lemon flavor.  Every once in a while, there was a bite spiked with a fresh blueberry, which added a mellow sweetness to pair with the tart lemon frosting and glaze.

GF Lemon Blueberry Cake

 

Even though this recipe isn’t my own, I am bringing it to the Fiesta Friday gang over at Angie The Novice Gardener’s place.  This was a hit at my 4th of July party and I’m sure it will be at hit here too.

For those who are hesitant to bake gluten-free, this is a great recipe that wasn’t difficult to make at all.  Hopefully you can give it a try!

GF Lemon Blueberry Cake

GF Lemon Blueberry Cake

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Lemon Blueberry Layer Cake

  1. While I personally don’t need to eat gluten free, I like the idea of this cake! I’ll probably try it out with regular flour and stuff, after switching around some of the things in it. 😛 Looks super cute!

    • It was so pretty. I think if you use regular flour, you will need more of it. Good luck 🙂

  2. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #23|Happy 4th of July! | The Novice Gardener

    • Awww…thank you. It really tasted good too! One of the reasons I wanted to make it was how cute and summer-like it looked. I think I’m in love with Gluten-Free on a Shoestring’s recipes!

Leave a Reply

