Homemade Breakfast Sausage

 

Homemade breakfast sausage

 

Have you ever taken the time to look at the ingredients in pre-packaged breakfast sausage?  Well, I have, and the list of additives is frightening.  A lot of them have high fructose corn syrup and MSG (monosodium glutamate).  Others have ingredients I don’t even recognize as edible for human consumption.  Why are these ingredients there when all you need is some meat and spices?  To make it taste extra good and to trigger your brain to want more!  There is no other need for it, and I’m sorry…but I don’t think it is safe to be feeding my family any of that stuff if I don’t have to.

I figured there had to be a product on the market without MSG, and in my search, found out how simple it is to just make my own breakfast sausage.

The benefits of making my own sausage for my family are amazing — no added ingredients and I get to cut way back on the amount of fat.  One ounce of regular, lean ground pork I can buy at the grocery store has approximately 2 grams of fat, and one ounce of a leading brand’s breakfast sauasage…*drum roll* has 7.5 grams of fat.  That is huge!  When I made a batch of homemade breakfast sausage this morning, my husband was skeptical at first because it tasted so lean.  Then he realized that he didn’t have that heavy feeling in his gut after eating the homemade sausage compared to eating the supermarket product.

Adding your own spice blend also has its benefits.  You can make this sausage as sweet or as spicy as you like.  My kids don’t like spicy sausage, so if that is the case in your family, just eliminate the crushed red pepper and cut back on the ground black pepper.  It is that easy!  I’d love to start experimenting with making my own bratwurst sausage too — the supermarket product again is loaded with MSG, an ingredient that isn’t needed and seems to trigger my migraines.  Who knows what else it may be doing, too.

This recipe is easy enough to double and freeze patties for later use.  In fact, I had enough extra to make five patties to freeze up for another breakfast with just a pound of ground pork.  You can also use other meats if you want — ground turkey, chicken, even ground beef or veal in any combination.

I’m going to be linking this to Angie’s Fiesta Friday #26 at The Novice Gardener.  After a wild Friday night of trying out recipes, a hearty breakfast just may be in order.  Stop by to see what everyone else has been cooking!

What you need to make 24 mini sausage balls or 12-15 sausage patties, depending on size:

1 lb ground pork or meat of your choice

1 tsp sea salt

1 tsp marjoram

1 tsp paprika

1 tsp ground sage

1/4 tsp dried thyme

1/2 tsp ground cloves (or you can use allspice or nutmeg)

1 Tbs brown sugar for sweetness

1/8 – 1/4 tsp dried red chile flakes

1/2 – 1 tsp ground black pepper

Procedure:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Put ground meat in a medium-sized bowl and add all of your spices, sugar, salt and pepper.  Adjust the dried chile flakes and ground black pepper depending on how spicy you like your sausage.  Mix together throughly with your hands until all spices are evenly incorporated.

Make small, sausage meatballs to fit into a 24 count mini muffin baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes until no longer pink inside.

homemade breakfast sausage

If you prefer patties, you can form them into patties and fry in a skillet.  You will need a bit of oil because the meat is so much leaner than packaged breakfast sausage.

If you want to freeze your sausage, you can freeze the meatballs or patties on a flat baking sheet, then transfer to a storage bag and just pull out the amount you need for a meal or recipe.  Enjoy!

homemade breakfast sausage

 

 

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Homemade Breakfast Sausage

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Cream Pie | Fiesta Friday #26 | The Novice Gardener

  2. Happy Happy Fiesta Friday Angenette!! WooHOO!! I’m loving this recipe!! I am SO totally make this.. like soon. As soon as I can get to the store and get the ingredients. It looks and sounds so delicious… something that I’ve been wanting to do for a very long time! Thank you so much for sharing this with all of us… Awesome post! ❤

    • Oooh — if you try it, let me know how it comes out. There are so many possibilities! Thanks for stopping by. I’ve been on a hiatus for a while 😉

  3. I’m definitely going to try this. Thanks for the less-spicy modification recommendation too. Any chance you’ll figure out an Italian sausage version?

      • These are a winner. We did the muffin tin version with no chile flakes and very little black pepper. They were really good; everyone in the family liked them. Next time, and there will be a next time, I’ll probably back down the cloves or try allspice or nutmeg. And maybe sneak in some chile flakes. Thanks!

      • Glad you liked the recipe! We are making it again this weekend too. I’m with you on cutting back on the cloves a bit. I like the flavor, but after freezing, it got a little intense.

Leave a Reply

