Cheese Pancakes with Balsamic Strawberries

Cheese pancakes with balsamic strawberries

A few years ago my husband and I were watching Nigella Lawson and saw her make these amazing cheesecakelets, as she called them.  I knew I had to try her recipe out, so a few  days later this was on the breakfast menu.  They are low in carbs due to the small amount of flour used and low in sugar too.  I love the texture that the melty cottage cheese gives them and the whipped egg whites help to make them light and fluffy.  My only problem — the recipe doesn’t make enough!

The other day I finally invested in a new, ceramic coated non-stick pan.  I’ve been living without non-stick for several years, and after much research and deliberation, I caved.  AND I love my new pan.  I’ve been cooking in it several times a day.  It is a dream.

After looking in my fridge and seeing some fresh cottage cheese, I decided to put that beautiful pan to work making these pancakes.  To make them gluten-free, I used GF all purpose flour instead of wheat flour.  It was exactly the same in texture, if not better.

We had some fresh berries in the fridge, too.  The balsamic strawberries are the perfect complement to the cheesy, protein laden cakes.  If you’ve never had strawberries and balsamic vinegar together, you have to try it.  You don’t need much vinegar at all, but there is something about the two.  Add a small amount of sugar, let the berries macerate a bit, and you have a sweet, syrupy topping that is to die for!

What you need to make 6-8 pancakes, depending on how big you make them:

3 large eggs, separated

1 Cup of cottage cheese

1/3 Cup all purpose flour/I used Gluten Free flour

1 Tbs sugar

1 pinch of salt

1 tsp vanilla

For the topping — chop about 1 Cup of strawberries and add a splash of balsamic vinegar and 1 tsp sugar to them.  Allow them to sit while cooking pancakes, and mash a few with a fork before serving.

Procedure:

Mix together cottage cheese, egg yolks, sugar, vanilla and salt.  In a separate bowl, whip egg whites until foamy and starting to form soft peaks.  You will get your workout here!

Fold egg whites into cottage cheese mixture gently.

Spoon about 1/4 Cup per cake onto a hot, non-stick skillet with a little melted butter.  Cook until bubbles form and flip, cooking 1-2 minutes more on the second side.

cheese pancake recipe

cheese pancake recipe

Serve warm with the balsamic-macerated strawberries on top.  Yum!

Cheese Pancakes with Balsamic Strawberries

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

