Quinoa Pizza

quinoa pizza crust

One of the things I have truly missed since going gluten-free has been my homemade, yeasty pizza dough.  I seriously mourn the inability to make and eat it, but I am learning new ways to cook using healthier ingredients and this quinoa pizza crust is absolutely amazing.  It is a very close second, if not a tie for my favorite gluten crust.  In fact, it just may beat it because quinoa is so darn healthy.  Loaded with protein and fiber, quinoa is a seed that packs a nutritional punch.

The idea of mixing cooked quinoa with eggs and cheese to make a beautiful platform for pizza toppings is just genius, and I credit the idea from lots of Pinterest surfing.  After experimenting with several recipes, I have come up with my own version that just works for my family of five.  It makes two 10×12″ oval pizzas.  You can top these crusts with whatever you like, but our favorites are a basic pizza sauce, mozzarella, fresh tomatoes and basil as well as garlic-cheese for dipping in extra sauce.

quinoa pizza crust recipe

Not only is this pizza great hot out of the oven, but it tastes fantastic cold the next day!  The crust holds up to the toppings and doesn’t get mushy.  I’m guessing you could bake off some of these crusts, let them cool and freeze them for faster week night dinners, too.  I haven’t tried that yet, but plan to soon as I gear up to go back to work this fall.

I’m linking this to Angie, The Novice Gardener’s Fiesta Friday #28.  Hopefully others will enjoy this healthy meal that tastes just as good as take out.

What you need to make two pizza crusts:

1 Cup quinoa (either plain or mixed variety is fine)

2 Cups water

2 tsps olive oil

1/2 Cup shredded mozzarella cheese (shred your own and skip on the preservatives and chemicals of pre-shredded cheese)

1/4 Cup grated parmesan or romano cheese

1 tsp Italian seasonings

1 tsp garlic powder

1/2 to 1 tsp salt (depending on your taste)

3 large eggs

Toppings for your favorite pizza (more cheese, sauce, veggies, meat)

Procedure:

Rinse and drain your uncooked quinoa in cold water for a few minutes using a fine, mesh strainer.  This removes the potentially bitter taste that quinoa can have sometimes.

Put your quinoa in a medium sauce pan and add 1 tsp olive oil to it.  Turn heat to medium high and stir quinoa occasionally until it the water that you rinsed it with starts to evaporate and the quinoa starts to sizzle.  This should take anywhere from 3-5 minutes.

Add your 2 Cups of water and bring quinoa to a boil, then cover and simmer for 15 minutes.  After 15 minutes, take the lid off and stir, but keep quinoa cooking over low heat for another five minutes to remove as much excess liquid as possible.  After five minutes, put quinoa in a bowl to cool down.

Preheat your oven to 425 degrees and line one or two baking sheets with parchment paper.  I use a small amount of oil on the parchment to make sure my pizzas don’t stick, but I don’t think this is completely necessary.  It’s up to you.

Once your quinoa is cooled, add the spices, remaining 1 tsp olive oil, eggs and cheeses to the quinoa and mix until thoroughly incorporated with a spatula.

Spoon half of the mixture onto your parchment lined sheet for one pizza and the other half for the second pizza, either on the other side of the baking sheet or a new baking tray.

With the back of a spatula, smooth the mixture out into a round or oval shape with a thickness of about 1/4 inch.  You can build up the edges a little thicker.

quinoa pizza crust recipe

quinoa pizza crust

Pop these crusts into your preheated oven and bake for 15-20 minutes until they are golden brown.

Remove crusts from the oven and put on sauce and toppings, then bake for another 5-10 minutes until the cheese is bubbly.  Allow to cool for about 5 minutes before cutting into pieces and enjoy!  I think you will agree with me that this pizza is amazing and maybe you won’t miss the gluten and yeast too?!?!

quinoa pizza crust recipe

 

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Quinoa Pizza

  1. Oh wow! This is awesome for me because I’ve been wanting to make pizza but didn’t know how to go about making the dough without white/wheat flour. Looks tasty!

  2. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #28 | The Novice Gardener

    • Thanks! The crust is so good, and really doesn’t taste that cheesy. It mainly is a binder and adds to that lovely toasted flavor quinoa has. Mmm…I think I need to make another one of these today. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Healthy Meal Plan Monday – Week of January 26-31 |

  4. Pingback: My Week in Links | Creating Kilter

  5. Sorry but I didn’t think this was a very good substitute. Too many eggs. I used tricolour quinoa and maybe that was part of the problem.

    • No need to be sorry…everyone has different tastes. Lots of people have made this recipe and loved it, but a lot depends on how your quinoa is cooked as well. If it isn’t completely cooked and fluffy, it won’t behave the same way. Hope you find something that works for you!

    • Thanks, Jill. I haven’t tried to freeze them, but I would imagine you could par bake them and freeze them. I’d let them cool, wrap in plastic wrap then foil to protect from freezer burn. If you try it, let me know!

      • I tried freezing and they came out just fine! Just let it defrost on the counter, put my toppings on and baked it just like recipe says. Thanks so much! I love this recipe!

Leave a Reply

